Baked Four Cheese Shell Macaroni

Bonjour!  I’m back!  For those of you wondering where I have been, check out my other blog here to read about my last few crazy months.

Alright, back to food.  Now don’t worry, I am not out of practice because although I have not been posting, I have still been cooking (and eating) as usual.  I recently spent 2 weeks back home in the States visiting family and friends, and of course ended up cooking for some people just like old times.  I made this homemade macaroni and cheese, and an amazing chunky peanut butter cheesecake with chocolate ganache.  Per request, I am posting this cheesy delight!

Enjoy!

Baked Four Cheese Shell Macaroni

Ingredients:

1 lb. of medium pasta shells

4 oz grated fontina cheese

4 oz. grated gruyère cheese

4 oz. shredded cheddar

4 oz. grated parmesan

1 1/2 cups heavy cream

5 tblsp. butter

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Meanwhile, cook pasta in boiling salted water and remove just a minute or two before al dente.

While pasta cookes, in a small bowl place butter and heavy cream.  Microwave on 50% power until warmed. (Do not cause to boil!) Remove and cover to keep warm.

When pasta is finished, strain and pour into a large bowl.  Combine with cream and butter mixture, Fontina, cheddar, and Gruyère cheeses, salt and pepper.  Stir to combine letting cheeses begin to melt.

Pour pasta into a buttered casserole dish or baking pan.  Top pasta with freshly grated Parmesan cheese.

Bake about 20 minutes.  Serve hot.

Bon Ap!

Julie


3 responses to “Baked Four Cheese Shell Macaroni

  1. Hm, Mac’s birthday is coming up. I’ll have to see if this is what he’d like to have.

  2. I’m getting ready for Weds, my shopping list is made. One question, what size/kind of pan do you recommend?

    • Whatever size fits the pasta works just fine :) Like a large brownie pan, deep skillet etc.
      I am glad everyone liked the dish!

Leave a Reply

