An Apology…with Black Bottom Cupcakes

Hi!

Ok, don’t be mad. I know, really, I know.  I have been gone for… a while.  I have had several people asking me why I haven’t been posting.  “I check your blog all the time, where are you??”  or “Why haven’t you been posting??”

Ok.  Guilty.

The truth is, I am busy and poor.  In addition to all the work I am doing for grad school, my job, and the general day-to-day of running around in life, I don’t make a lot of money working part time and that hinders many things.

I can promise you, however, that I have been cooking and baking regularly and have stocked up some new things to feature on my blog and my early new year’s resolution is to post at least 2-3 times a month.  I think this is a feasible goal, and may prevent going on hiatus for 4 months again.  Thank you to my loyal followers for giving me the kick in the butt I apparently needed.  So here is my apology: Black Bottom Cupcakes.  Do you accept?  😀

These have always been one of my favorite cupcakes and I realized that for as long as I have loved these, I have never actually made them!  These are in my Top Five because they combine two things I love: chocolate and cheesecake.  Mmmm…  These are best served cold because the chilled chocolate cake accompanied by the delicious cheesecake filling sends your taste buds dancing.  And what better way to extend an apology than with chocolate and cheesecake?

And so, my friends, my followers, I hereby promise to make more of an effort to post.  I will dig into my archives and pull out all the stops to please your every whim.  So, without further delay, I present the Black Bottom Cupcake.

Black Bottom Cupcakes (Makes about 12-14 large cupcakes)

Ingredients:

Cream Cheese Filling:

8 ounces cream cheese, room temperature

1/3 cup granulated white sugar

1 large egg

1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Chocolate Cupcakes:

1 1/2 cups flour

1 cup granulated white sugar

1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup water

1/3 cup oil

2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and line your muffin pan(s) with paper liners.

Cream Cheese Filling: beat the cream cheese until smooth. Add the sugar, egg, and vanilla extract and beat until creamy and smooth. Set aside.

Chocolate Cupcakes: In a large bowl combine the flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt.  In a smaller bowl mix together the water, oil, and vanilla extract.  Slowly add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients while stirring. Combine until smooth. Evenly divide batter into the cupcake molds and liners. Then spoon a tablespoon or two of the cream cheese filling into the center of each cupcake.

Bake for about 25 minutes, or until the cream cheese filling is slightly browned.  Stick a toothpick into the cupcake and it will come out clean if well baked.  Remove from oven and place on a wire rack to cool.  Refrigerate at least 1 hour before serving (it tastes better!)

The cupcakes can be stored in the refrigerator for a few days if need be.

Bon Ap!

Julie

3 responses to “An Apology…with Black Bottom Cupcakes

  1. Wondering if the fam would rather have these of the fleur de lis lemon with cream cheese bundt I planned on making for next Sunday. Hm…

  2. YAY!!! I love your cooking updates! 🙂

  3. Oy, that last comment I left had an awfully dumb typo. Oh well, I promise to leave more dumb comments when you have time to post again!

    Happy full of accomplishments New Year!

Leave a comment